FIFA Best Awards: Messi, Bonmati win big [Full list of winners]

FIFA Best Awards: Messi, Bonmati win big [Full list of winners]

On Monday, Lionel Messi was declared as FIFA’s top men’s player for 2023, while Aitana Bonmati extended her collection of individual honors at the awards ceremony in London.

Messi received the award for the third time, although it came as a surprise victory ahead of Erling Haaland on what was otherwise a splendid evening for Manchester City.

Bonmati’s selection as the best women’s player caused fewer disputes as she completed a remarkable clean sweep of personal accolades after contributing to Spain’s World Cup triumph and Barcelona’s Champions League glory in 2023.

In recent months, the 25-year-old has consistently claimed numerous prestigious titles, including the Ballon d’Or, the Golden Ball for player of the World Cup, and UEFA’s player of the year award.

Here is the full list of winners at the FIFA Best Awards:


Best player:

Lionel Messi (ARG/Paris Saint-Germain-Inter Miami)

Best coach:

Pep Guardiola (ESP/Manchester City)

Best Goalkeeper:

Ederson (BRA/Manchester City)

Puskas (best goal) award:

Guilherme Madruga (BRA/Botafogo)

Fair play award:

Brazilan men’s senior team

Team of the year:

Thibaut Courtois (BEL/Real Madrid), Kyle Walker (ENG/Manchester City), John Stones (ENG/Manchester City), Ruben Dias (POR/Manchester City), Bernardo Silva (POR/Manchester City), Jude Bellingham (ENG/Borussia Dortmund-Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (BEL/Manchester City), Lionel Messi (ARG/PSG- Inter Miami), Erling Haaland (NOR/Manchester City), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/Paris Saint-Germain), Vinicius Junior (BRA/Real Madrid)


Best player:

Aitana Bonmati (ESP/Barcelona)

Best coach:

Sarina Wiegman (NED/England)

Best goalkeeper:

Mary Earps (ENG/Manchester United)

Team of the year:

Mary Earps (ENG/Manchester United); Olga Carmona (ESP/Real Madrid), Lucy Bronze (ENG/Barcelona), Alex Greenwood (ENG/Manchester City), Keira Walsh (ENG/Barcelona), Alessia Russo (ENG/Manchester United-Arsenal) Lauren James (ENG/Chelsea), Ella Toone (ENG/Manchester United) Aitana Bonmati (ESP/Barcelona), Alex Morgan (USA/San Diego Wave), Sam Kerr (AUS/Chelsea)

READ ALSO  2023 WWC: You'll get Prize money, bonuses owed - NFf assures Super Falcons

Note: The award period for the women’s accolades was between 1 August 2022 and 20 August 2023.

The award period for the men’s prizes was between 19 December 2022 and 20 August 2023 inclusive.

Olusola Sorinmade

Skilled and dedicated blogger with over two years experience. I publish posts on news, politics, entertainment, sports, trending gist within Nigeria and beyond. You can reach me at

Leave a Reply